India vs Australia: Yuzvendra Chahal’s reaction to being denied selection after India announced the T20I squad

New Delhi,Updated: 21 November 2023 08:19 IST

India has announced its T20I squad for the 5-match T20I series against Australia starting 4 days after the 2023 Cricket World Cup final. Suryakumar Yadav has been named as captain of the team led by Ajit Agarkar The selection committee selected a team of 15 players Without making too many wholesale changes to the teams that played the system before the World Cup.

Hardik Pandya, who has been captain of the T20I team since the start of the year, was absent due to The injury he suffered during the World Cup. Ruturaj Gaikwad, who led India to the Asian Games gold medal in men’s cricket, has been named as vice-captain for the first 3 T20Is while Shreyas Iyer is set to join the team as Suryakumar’s deputy for the last 2 T20Is.

While most of the players who were part of the 2023 World Cup squad, barring Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna and Suryakumar, were comfortable in the T20I series, Sanju Samson and Yuzvendra Chahal were among the notable omissions.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was India’s last T20Is during their tour of the West Indies in August. The senior pacer took to social media to post a cryptic message after losing his name in the T20I squad for the West Indies series.

Chahal was overlooked in the World Cup as well and the leg-spinner last played an ODI in January 2023. He was part of the squad for West Indies but did not get a cap as the selectors and team management preferred Kuldeep Yadav to the wrist-spinner role alongside the finger spinner Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin.

For the T20I series against Australia, India brought back left-arm spinner Axar Patel after them He missed the World Cup Due to injury. Broken-leg bowler Ravi Bishnoi and off-spinner Washington Sundar were the other players in the team.

Chahal took advantage of the time away from the senior national team, He played red-ball cricket in the County Championship Kent in September. He also featured for Haryana in the recently concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 T20, where he took 11 wickets in 7 matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who took 16 wickets in 7 matches for Uttar Pradesh in an impressive campaign, has also been overlooked for T20Is.

a team

Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashavi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

IND vs AUS, T20I schedule

The first T20I is on November 23 in Visakhapatnam
The second T20I is on November 26 in Thiruvananthapuram
The third T20I is on November 28 in Guwahati
The fourth T20I is on December 1 in Raipur
The fifth T20I is on December 3 in Bengaluru

Published by:

Akshay Ramesh

Published on:

November 21, 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *